“Abbott Elementary” Wins Big at the 2022 Black Reel TV Awards

Quinta Brunson in
Quinta Brunson in "Abbott Elementary"

Abbott Elementary has been winning awards left and right in the past few weeks and it’s showing no signs of stopping. The ABC sitcom was the biggest winner at this year’s Black Reel TV Awards and it walked away with a total of seven awards.

Abbott Elementary managed to beat the tough competition, including Black-ish, Insecure, Atlanta, and South Side, to win one of the biggest awards of the night—outstanding comedy series. It was also a big night for its creator and star Quinta Brunson, who collected trophies for outstanding actress in a comedy and outstanding writing for a comedy series.

The rest of the Abbott Elementary cast did pretty great, as well, with Tyler James Williams, Janelle James, and Orlando Jones winning awards for their respective performances. Matthew A. Cherry collected a trophy for directing the episode “Ava v. The Superintendent”.

No other show came even close to ABC’s hit sitcom, and The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey was a distant second with four wins, including outstanding TV movie or limited series. This Is Us and Euphoria were right behind with three trophies each, while Bel-Air surprisingly managed to beat them both to win the award for outstanding drama series.


Outstanding Comedy Series 

“Abbott Elementary” | Quinta Brunson, showrunner (ABC)

Outstanding Actor, Comedy Series

Donald Glover | “Atlanta” (FX)

Outstanding Actress, Comedy Series 

Quinta Brunson | “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Comedy Series

Tyler James Williams | “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Comedy Series 

Janelle James | “Abbott Elementary” (ABC) 

Outstanding Directing, Comedy Series 

“Abbott Elementary” (“Ava v. The Superintendent”) | Matthew A. Cherry, director (ABC)

Outstanding Writing, Comedy Series 

“Abbott Elementary” (“Pilot”) | Quinta Brunson, writer (ABC)

Outstanding Guest Actor, Comedy Series

Orlando Jones | “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)

Outstanding Guest Actress, Comedy Series

Quinta Brunson | “A Black Lady Sketch Show” (HBO)

Outstanding Drama Series 

 “Bel-Air” | TJ Brady & Rasheed Newson, showrunners (Peacock) 

Outstanding Actor, Drama Series

Sterling K. Brown | “This Is Us” (NBC)

Outstanding Actress, Drama Series 

Zendaya | “Euphoria” (HBO) 

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Drama Series

Wood Harris | “Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Drama Series 

Susan Kelechi Watson | “This Is Us” (NBC) 

Outstanding Directing, Drama Series  

“Bridgerton” (“The Viscount Who Loved Me”) | Cheryl Dunye, director (Netflix)

Outstanding Writing, Drama Series 

 “This Is Us” (“Every Version of You”) | Kay Oyegun, writer (NBC) 

Outstanding Guest Actor, Drama Series

Colman Domingo | “Euphoria” (HBO)

Outstanding Guest Actress, Drama Series  

Sanaa Lathan | “Succession” (HBO)

Outstanding TV Movie or Limited Series

“The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey” | Diane Houslin, showrunner (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Actor, TV Movie/Limited Series

Samuel L. Jackson | “The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey” (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Actress, TV Movie/Limited Series 

Wunmi Mosaku | “We Own This City” (HBO) 

Outstanding Supporting Actor, TV Movie/Limited Series

Glynn Turman | “Women of the Movement” (ABC) 

Outstanding Supporting Actress, TV Movie/Limited Series 

Moses Ingram | “Obi-Wan Kenobi” (Disney+) 

Outstanding Directing, TV Movie/Limited Series 

“The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey” (“Robyn”) | Debbie Allen, director (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Writing, TV Movie/Limited Series 

“The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey” (”Ptolemy”) | Walter Mosley, writer (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Documentary

”We Need to Talk About Cosby” | W. Kamau Bell, director (Showtime) 

Outstanding VARIETY, SKETCH, TALK – Series or Special

 “A Black Lady Sketch Show” | Robin Thede, showrunner (HBO) 

Outstanding Music Supervision 

 “Insecure” | Kier Lehman, music supervisor (HBO)

Outstanding Musical Score 

 “Insecure” | Raphael Saadiq, composer (HBO) 

Outstanding Original Song 

“I’m Tired” (Euphoria) | Labrinth & Zendaya, performers; Labrinth, Zendaya & Sam Levinson, writers – HBO