Iron Maiden Celebrates Debut Album’s 40th Birthday with a Limited Edition Vinyl

Iron Maiden's Dave Murray, Adrian Smith and Steve Harris in concert. Photo by IBL/REX/Shutterstock (9707628s)

Iron Maiden’s debut album turned 40 last April and the metal giants have announced a limited re-release of the self-titled album in order to mark this milestone.

The album will be released on a clear vinyl picture disk on October 9th, a day before National Album Day. it will be released through Parlophone Records.

“Iron Maiden was the album that saw the East London band start the journey that has led them over the course of four decades, 16 studio albums, over 90 million album sales and more than 2000 concerts around the globe, to become the biggest and most acclaimed metal band on the planet,” read the band’s announcement.

In his original debut the album, with its eight tracks, reached no.4 in the UK album charts. Many of its songs are still played live on the band’s show to this day. The original lineup of the band featured in the album includes Paul Di’Anno’s vocals, Steve Harris’ bass and backing vocals, Dave Murray and Dennis Stratton’s guitars, and Clive Burr’s drums.

Check out the album’s track list:

Side One

1. Prowler

2. Remember Tomorrow

3. Running Free

4. Phantom Of The Opera

Side Two

5. Transylvania

6. Strange World

7. Charlotte The Harlot

8. Iron Maiden