Netflix Sets a Release Date For “The Politician” Season 2

Gwyneth Paltrow and Ben Platt in "The Politician"

Ryan Murphy’s dark comedy series, The Politician will be returning to Netflix on June 19.

The show follows Payton Hobart (Ben Platt), a wealthy student from Santa Barbara, California, who dreams of being the President of the United States. Before he can become President, he’ll have to survive the political landscape of high school.

Gwyneth Paltrow, Zoey Deutch, Lucy Boynton, Bob Balaban, David Corenswet, Julia Schlaepfer, Laura Dreyfuss, Theo Germaine, Rahne Jones, Jessica Lange, and Benjamin Barrett also star in the series.

Per Netflix, Season 2 will be about Payton trying to “unseat Dede Standish (Judith Light) in the New York State Senate race. As a long-time incumbent and greatly admired Senate Majority Leader with no-nonsense Chief of Staff, Hadassah Gold (Bette Midler) at her side, Dede’s re-election was supposed to be easy, but Payton — who sees this as the next step on his path to the presidency — must decide what kind of politician he ultimately wants to be in order to succeed, even if that means exposing secrets, lies, and a throuple.”