“Nomadland” Wins Big at 2021 the Producers Guild of America Awards

Frances McDormand in
Frances McDormand in "Nomadland"

Nomadland is one of the movies leading this year’s Oscar race, and it cemented its status as the front-runner at another major award ceremony. Chloé Zhao’s critically acclaimed drama was the biggest winner of the night at this year’s PGA Awards.

Nomadland was awarded in the category of outstanding producer of theatrical motion pictures, continuing its winning streak. This victory comes shortly after its domination at the Golden Globes and the Critics’ Choice Awards, where it was named as the best motion picture – drama.

The Crown was, once again, the biggest winner of the night in TV categories. It came out victorious in the category outstanding producer of episodic television – drama, while Schitt’s Creek took the win in the comedy field.

The list of honorees also included docu-series The Last Dance, mini-series The Queen’s Gambit, Pixar’s animated movie Soul, and Disney+ musical Hamilton. This year’s PGA Awards took place virtually on March 24th.

Full List of Winners at 2021 PGA Awards:

Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures


Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama

The Crown (Season 4)

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

The Last Dance (Season 1)

Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

The Queen’s Gambit

Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures


Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures


Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 7)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

My Octopus Teacher

Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 12)

Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

Schitt’s Creek (Season 6)

Outstanding Sports Program

Defying Gravity: The Untold Story of Women’s Gymnastics (Season 1)

Innovation Award


Outstanding Short Form Program

Carpool Karaoke: The Series (Season 3)

Outstanding Children’s Program

The Power of We: A Sesame Street Special

Charles Fitzsimons Award

Vance Van Petten

PGA/UCLA Vision Award

Stephanie Allain