“Promising Young Woman” and “Borat 2” Win Big at the WGA Awards

Carey Mulligan in
Carey Mulligan in "Promising Young Woman"

The awards season is currently in full steam and the Writers Guild of America is the latest organization to crown its winners. Promising Young Woman received the award for the best original screenplay, while Borat Subsequent Moviefilm came out victorious in the category of the best-adapted screenplay.

Promising Young Woman is currently the front-runner for the same award at the Oscars, where it will be competing against several movies it defeated at WGA Awards. Borat Subsequent Moviefilm also received an Academy Award nod for the best-adapted screenplay, and it will be up against The Father, Nomadland, The White Tiger, and One Night in Miami.

When it comes to TV categories, The Crown once again led the way, and it was named the best drama series. It was also a great night for Apple TV’s rookie sitcom Ted Lasso, which won a total of two awards—best comedy series and best new series.

The list of major winners also included The Dissident (best documentary screenplay), Mrs. America (best long-form series – original), and The Queen’s Gambit (best long-form series – adapted).

The 73rd Writers Guild of America Awards took place on March 21st, and they’re often a great indicator of future winners in writing categories at the Oscars.

Full List of 2021 Writers Guild of America Awards Winners:


Original Screenplay

Promising Young Woman
Written by Emerald Fennell

Adapted Screenplay

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Peter Baynham & Erica Rivinoja & Dan Mazer & Jena Friedman & Lee Kern
Story by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Nina Pedrad
Based on Characters Created by Sacha Baron Cohen

Documentary Screenplay

The Dissident
Written by Mark Monroe and Bryan Fogel


Drama Series

The Crown
Written by Peter Morgan, Jonathan Wilson

Comedy Series

Ted Lasso
Written by Jane Becker, Leann Bowen, Brett Goldstein, Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Bill Lawrence, Jamie Lee, Jason Sudeikis, Phoebe Walsh, Bill Wrubel

New Series

Ted Lasso
Written by Jane Becker, Leann Bowen, Brett Goldstein, Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Bill Lawrence, Jamie Lee, Jason Sudeikis, Phoebe Walsh, Bill Wrubel

Original Long Form

Mrs. America
Written by Tanya Barfield, Joshua Griffith, Sharon Hoffman, Boo Killebrew, Micah Schraft, April Shih, Dahvi Waller

Adapted Long Form

The Queen’s Gambit
Written by Scott Frank, Allan Scott, Based on the novel by Walter Tevis

Original & Adapted Short Form New Media

Written by Marc Maurino


“Xerox of a Xerox” (BoJack Horseman)
Written by Nick Adams

Episodic Drama

“Fire Pink” (Ozark)
Written by Miki Johnson

Episodic Comedy

“The Great” (The Great)
Written by Tony McNamara

Comedy/Variety Talk Series

Desus & Mero
Writers: Daniel “Desus Nice” Baker, Claire Friedman, Ziwe Fumudoh, Josh Gondelman, Robert Kornhauser, Joel “The Kid Mero” Martinez, Heben Nigatu, Mike Pielocik, Julia Young

Comedy/Variety Specials

Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020
Head Writers: Ariel Dumas, Jay Katsir Writers: Delmonte Bent, Michael Brumm, River Clegg, Aaron Cohen, Stephen T. Colbert, Nicole Conlan, Paul Dinello, Glenn Eichler, Django Gold, Gabe Gronli, Barry Julien, Michael Cruz Kayne, Eliana Kwartler, Matt Lappin, Felipe Torres Medina, Opus Moreschi, Asher Perlman, Tom Purcell, Kate Sidley, Brian Stack, John Thibodeaux, Steve Waltien

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series

At Home with Amy Sedaris
Writers: Jeremy Beiler, Cole Escola, Peter Grosz, Amy Sedaris

Quiz And Audience Participation

Weakest Link
Head Writer: Ann Slichter Writers: Chip Dornell, Paul Greenberg, Joyce Ikemi, Stuart Krasnow, Jon Macks, Mona Mira, Scott Saltzburg, Aaron Solomon, Chris Sturgeon, Grant Taylor

Daytime Drama

Days of Our Lives
Head Writer: Ron Carlivati Writers: Lorraine Broderick, Joanna Cohen, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, David Kreizman, Rebecca McCarty, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Katherine D. Schock, Elizabeth Snyder

Children’s Episodic, Long Form And Specials

“The Sleepover”
Written by Sarah Rothschild

Documentary Script – Current Events

“Agents of Chaos, Part II”
Written by Alex Gibney & Michael J. Palmer

Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events

“Opioids, Inc.” (Frontline)
Written by Tom Jennings

News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, Or Breaking Report

“Anger in America” (World News Tonight with David Muir)
Written by Dave Bloch, David Muir, Karen Mooney, David Schoetz

News Script – Analysis, Feature, Or Commentary

“Juneteenth: A Celebration of Overcoming”
Written by Dave Bloch

Digital News

“The Store That Called the Cops on George Floyd”
Written by Aymann Ismail


Radio Audio News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, Or Breaking Report

“Changemakers: Leaders Who Made a Difference”
Written by Gail Lee

Radio Audio News Script – Analysis, Feature, Or Commentary

“Against Those Thugs: Delores Tucker and Bill Bennett” (Slow Burn)
Written by Joel Anderson, Christopher Johnson


On Air Promotion

“Get Out The Vote – Check Out Those Moves”
Written by Meghana Reddy and Angad Bhalla