Several “Grey’s Anatomy” Longtime Cast Members Returning for Season 20

James Pickens Jr. in
James Pickens Jr. in "Grey's Anatomy"

Grey’s Anatomy wouldn’t be the same without its amazing cast and many of the fan favorites officially confirmed they’ll be back next season. After renegotiating their contracts with ABC, numerous longtime cast members announced they’ll return in the landmark 20th season.

Only two remaining original cast members will be back for Season 20: James Pickens Jr., who plays Richard, and Chandra Wilson, who plays Bailey. They’ll be joined by Kevin McKidd (Owen), Kim Raver (Teddy), Camilla Luddington (Jo), and Caterina Scorsone (Amelia), all of whom have been a part of the show’s cast for ten or more seasons.

It was crucial for Grey’s Anatomy to lock its longest-tenured cast members given the major shift the show experienced last season. The series experienced a huge transition in the wake of Ellen Pompeo’s exit, only made worse by the departure of long-time cast member Kelly McCreary and showrunner Krista Vernoff.

Five new cast members—Harry Shum Jr., Adelaide Kane, Alexis Floyd, Niko Terho, and Midori Francis—tried to bridge the gap and usher in a new era for Grey’s Anatomy. ABC is yet to close new deals with the freshman, but they’re all expected to come back.

The show’s 19th season ended its run on May 18, with Ellen Pompeo making a cameo, and the door remains open for her potential on-screen return.