The Academy Announced Its New Members

Lady Gaga. Photo by Matt Baron/REX/Shutterstock (9893990dz)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has some new members.

Each year, the organization responsible for the Oscars expands its circle to allow in a new set of actors, actresses, and filmmakers who will be able to vote in the annual awards.

The prestigious membership has been extended to over 9,000 members of the industry with 2019’s batch set to add 842 more. Of the new inductees, 50% are women and 29% are people of color.

Amongst those who have been invited are Lady Gaga, Claire Foy, Sterling K. Brown, Jamie Bell, Jennifer Ehle, Tom Holland, Damian Lewis, Elisabeth Moss, Archie Panjabi,, Amanda Peet, Alexander Skarsgard, and Mark Ronson.

The inclusion means that around 8,000 voters will be able to cast their ballots for the 92nd Academy Awards that are scheduled to take place on February 9th 2020.