“The Harder They Fall” Takes Top Prizes at the AAFCA Awards

Regina King, Idris Elba, and LaKeith Stanfield in
Regina King, Idris Elba, and LaKeith Stanfield in "The Harder They Fall"

Many major film organizations are sharing their lists of award winners these days, and the African American Film Critics Association just joined in on the fun. The list of AAFCA Awards winners is in, with The Harder They Fall coming up on top with four awards.

The critically acclaimed Netflix western starring Jonathan Majors, Idris Elba, Zazie Beetz, and Regina King netted some of the biggest awards of the night, starting with the best picture and best director for Jeymes Samuel, who also shared the award for best music with Kid Cudi and Jay-Z. The star-studded cast of this project won the award for the best ensemble.

King Richard was right behind with a total of three awards. Its stars Will Smith and Aunjanue Ellis collected trophies in their respective acting categories, while Reinaldo Marcus Green was crowned as the best emerging director for telling the true story of Richard Williams and his daughters Venus and Serena, before they went on to become tennis legends.

Jennifer Hudson, Corey Hawkins, and Adam McKay are also among this year’s winners, and they’ll officially be honored at the AAFCA Awards ceremony taking place on March 2nd in Los Angeles.


Best Picture: The Harder They Fall

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (The Harder They Fall)

Best Screenplay: Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay)

Best Actor: Will Smith (King Richard)

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (Respect)

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney (King Richard)

Best Ensemble: The Harder They Fall

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (King Richard)

Best Music: The Harder They Fall (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)

Best Independent Feature: Who We Are

Best Documentary: Summer of Soul