The New Pornographers Announce New Album, Share Single

The New Pornographers. Photo by Mediapunch/Shutterstock (8521161e)

The New Pornographers confirm that their new album, In the Morse Code of Brake Lights, will drop September 27. 

Of the album’s title, frontman and producer A.C. Newman said, “I was about two-thirds of the way through the record when I began to notice that lyrically so much of it was pointing toward car songs. The opening track is ‘You’ll Need a Backseat Driver,’ and that was a metaphor that seemed to be running through other songs, too. Next to the love song, I feel like the car song is one of the most iconic kinds of songs in pop music, from Chuck Berry to the present. There was so much of that throughout it that I started thinking: ‘Oh, no, there’s too many references to cars on this record!’ And then I thought, ‘No, that’s good—people might think it’s a concept album.’”

They also released the album’s lead single “Falling Down the Stairs of Your Smile” from the follow-up to Whiteout Conditions, their 2017 LP.

Check out the tracklist below. 

01 You’ll Need a Backseat Driver
02 The Surprise Knock
03 Falling Down the Stairs of Your Smile
04 Colossus of Rhodes
05 Higher Beams
06 Dreamlike and on the Rush
07 You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going
08 Need Some Giants
09 Opening Ceremony
10 One Kind of Solomon
11 Leather on the Seat