The Smashing Pumpkins Releases Two New Songs, Confirms Upcoming Album

Billy Corgan of The Smashing Pumpkins in concert in 2016. Photo by Larry Marano/REX/Shutterstock (5669046k)

The Smashing Pumpkins confirmed their upcoming new album after they teased it earlier this month. Now, the band released two new singles from the album, “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love”. This is the first time the classic alternative rock band releases new music since its 2018 album Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.

The current lineup of the band includes vocalist Billy Corgan, James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin—the trio that reunited for the band’s last album. Guitarist Jeff Schroeder completes the lineup.

In a press release, Corgan said the “Cyr” is a dystopic folly. “One soul against the world sort of stuff, set against a backdrop of shifting loyalties and sped up time. To me it stands as both hopeful and dismissive of what is and isn’t possible with faith,” he said.

The album in the making wasn’t a huge secret as Corgan revealed earlier this year that they have 21 new songs ready and that sessions had begun in Nashville. Back in May, Schroeder claimed that Corgan is working simultaneously on two separate albums.

Both new songs were produced by Corgan himself in Chicago.