“Everything Everywhere” & “The Bear” Among Top Winners at the 2023 Independent Spirit Awards

Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu in
Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu in "Everything Everywhere All at Once"

Independent Spirit Awards returned to Santa Monica on Saturday night and gave us another unforgettable ceremony. Everything Everywhere All at Once made history as the most-awarded show in the ceremony’s history, while The Bear dominated the TV field.

Everything Everywhere came into the night with a total of eight nominations, and it managed to sweep every category it was nominated for, taking home a total of seven awards, including best feature.

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert won trophies for directing the film and writing its screenplay, while Paul Rogers was rewarded for his editing work. The cast of Everything Everywhere did pretty great, with Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu all winning awards in their respective categories.

This essentially means that this film won in all the categories it was nominated for since Jamie Lee Curtis lost best supporting performance to her co-star Ke Huy Quan.

As for the television field, it was a big night for The Bear, and the culinary drama ended up winning the best new scripted series and best supporting performance for Ayo Edebiri. The list of winners also included Quinta Brunson (best lead performance for Abbott Elementary), Pachinko (best ensemble), and The Rehearsal (best new non-scripted or documentary series).

The 38th Independent Spirit Awards took place on March 4 at the Santa Monica Pier, California, with Hasan Minhaj serving as a host.


Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson
Abbott Elementary

Best Director

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award

The Cathedral
Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose
Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature

Director: Charlotte Wells
Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Award

Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance

Stephanie Hsu
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone To Watch Award

Nikyatu Jusu

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing

Paul Rogers
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series

The Bear
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay

John Patton Ford
Emily the Criminal

Best International Film

Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri
The Bear

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Director/Producer: Laura Poitras
Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film)

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All at Once